27 NCAC 01D .2505 STANDARDS FOR CERTIFICATION AS A SPECIALIST IN STATE
CRIMINAL LAW

Each applicant for certification as a specialist in state criminal law shall meet the minimum standards set forth in

Rule .1720 of this subchapter. In addition, each applicant shall meet the following standards for certification:

(a) Licensure and Practice - An applicant shall be licensed and in good standing to practice law in North Carolina as

of the date of the application. During the period of certification an applicant shall continue to be licensed and in

good standing to practice law in North Carolina.

(b) Substantial Involvement - An applicant shall affirm to the board that the applicant has experience through

substantial involvement in the practice of state criminal law.

1) Substantial involvement shall mean during the five years immediately preceding the application,
the applicant devoted an average of at least 500 hours a year to the practice of state criminal law,
but not less than 400 hours in any one year. "Practice” shall mean substantive legal work,
specifically including representation in criminal jury trials, done primarily for the purpose of
providing legal advice or representation, or a practice equivalent.

2) "Practice equivalent" shall mean:

(A) Service as a law professor concentrating in the teaching of criminal law for one year or
more, which may be substituted for one year of experience to meet the five-year
requirement set forth in Rule .2505(b)(1) above;

(B) Service as a state or tribal court judge for one year or more, which may be substituted for
one year of experience to meet the five-year requirement set forth in Rule .2505(b)(1)
above;
3) For the subspecialty of state criminal law, the board shall require an applicant to show substantial

involvement by providing information that demonstrates the applicant's significant criminal trial
experience such as:

(A) representation during the applicant's entire legal career in criminal trials concluded by
jury verdict;

(B) representation as principal counsel of record in federal felony cases or state felony cases
(Class G or higher);

© court appearances in other substantive criminal proceedings in criminal courts of any
jurisdiction; and

(D) representation in appeals of decisions to the North Carolina Court of Appeals, the North

Carolina Supreme Court, or any federal appellate court.
(c) Continuing Legal Education - In the state criminal law subspecialty, an applicant must have earned no less than
40 hours of accredited continuing legal education credits in criminal law during the three years preceding the
application, which must include the following:

(1) at least 34 hours in skills pertaining to criminal law, such as evidence, substantive criminal law,
criminal procedure, criminal trial advocacy and criminal trial tactics; and
2 at least six hours in the area of ethics .
(d) Peer Review -
@ Each applicant for certification as a specialist in the subspecialty of state criminal law must make a
satisfactory showing of qualification through peer review.
2 All references must be licensed and in good standing to practice in North Carolina and must be

familiar with the competence and qualifications of the applicant in the specialty field. The
applicant consents to the confidential inquiry by the board or the specialty committee of the
submitted references and other persons concerning the applicant's competence and qualifications.

3) Written peer reference forms will be sent by the board or the specialty committee to the
references. Completed peer reference forms must be received from at least five of the references.
The board or the specialty committee may contact in person or by telephone any reference listed
by an applicant.

4) Each applicant must provide for reference and independent inquiry the names and addresses of the
following: (i) ten lawyers and/or judges who practice in the field of criminal law and who are
familiar with the applicant's practice, and (ii) opposing counsel and the judge in eight recent cases
tried by the applicant to verdict or entry of order.

(5) A reference may not be related by blood or marriage to the applicant, may not be a partner or
associate of the applicant, and may not work in the same government office as the applicant at the
time of the application.



(e) Examination - The applicant must pass a written examination designed to test the applicant's knowledge and

ability.
@

)

3)

History Note:

Terms - The examination shall be in written form and shall be given at such times as the board
deems appropriate. The examination shall be administered and graded uniformly by the specialty
committee.

Subject Matter - The examination shall cover the applicant's knowledge in the following topics in
state criminal law :

(A) the North Carolina Rules of Evidence;

(B) state criminal procedure and state laws affecting criminal procedure;
© constitutional law;

(D) appellate procedure and tactics;

(E) trial procedure and trial tactics; and

(F) criminal substantive law.

Required Examination Components -
An applicant for certification in the subspecialty of state criminal law must pass the examination
on general topics in criminal law and the examination on state criminal law.

Authority G.S. 84-23;

Readopted Eff. December 8, 1994;

Amendments Approved by the Supreme Court: February 5, 2004; October 6, 2004; August 23,
2007; March 8, 2013; October 2, 2014; March 16, 2017;

Amendments Approved by the Supreme Court June 15, 2022 and re-entered into the Supreme
Court's minutes March 20, 2024.



